Crema

noticing joy on the surface of simple things … the evidence of holiness happening in the daily grind.

Summer Yum – Just Liquid July 2, 2014

Keepin it real…

Last week, the hubby had  24 hours of a ‘just liquid’ diet.  This was preparation for a middle-age event the following day.  No more explanation needed for folks over 50. We perused the suggested liquid food options, most of them sweet, and set up a plan for the day…night…middle of the night..  Dinner was a large bowl of turkey broth that had been waiting in the freezer since last thanksgiving.  The hubby declared, “This is so good.  Thank you dear.”  EASIEST meal I’ve made in all our married life.

Keepin it green…

Months ago, we added the Vitamix to our kitchen counter.  It has been a source of great joy and delicious liquids.  The number one liquid Vitamix makes at our house is green smoothies.  The other color smoothies IntaJuice, Jamba Juice , etc make are delicious, but we have grown to love the green fruit/veggie breakfast made in our home.  I will admit, I’m not a fan of the brown smoothie.  It looks like p__p.  If I close my eyes, it tastes fine, but the color turns me off.  Red and purple fruit plus green veggies equal brown smoothie.  No thanks.

We’ve experimented and tested a long list of recipes and suggestions.  Below is our favorite liquid green breakfast (with options!)

Going Green Smoothie (SAVOR recipe book from Vitamix; pg 37)

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup green grapes (i keep mine in the freezer)
  • 1/2 cup pineapple chunks (I buy fresh, which is in abundance here, and freeze chunks)
  • 1/2 medium banana (i also freeze these, but fresh works too)
  • 2 cups lightly packed spinach
  • 1/2 cup ice cubes

NOTE:  if using frozen pineapple, omit the ice cubes

NOTES from Laura: I use mostly frozen fruit because then it takes seconds to throw together.

  1. Mangoes are overflowing here and I often use in places of the grapes or 1/2 mango, 1/2 pineapple.
  2. I substitute kale for spinach or use 1/2 and 1/2.
  3. Also – to keep it simple, I use the Vitamix to blend my spinach or kale with a bit of water, pour into ice cube trays and use those in my smoothies.
  4. This recipe makes 2 tall glasses.  I drink one, pour the other in a glass and JR takes it the next morning.  Just needs a quick stir and tastes great.
  5. I do often add chia seeds, flax seeds, or a little protein powder on occasion.  But the recipe as is – just perfect!

Let me know if you try this green liquid for the first time!  And feel free to share your favorite summer liquid breakfasts.

 

 

Leave a Reply

