Crema

noticing joy on the surface of simple things … the evidence of holiness happening in the daily grind.

Day 17: The 2nd Sweet October 18, 2013

Final Button 3

On my birthday this year, I ate dessert for lunch.  I’ve discovered Kilwains Ice Cream since moving to South FL as well as Orange Leaf Fro Yo and recently, Burger Fi Frozen Custard.  Those are my go to favorite dessert spots.   What they have in common:

  1.  Someone else made it and I ate it.
  2. It’s a treat, not a staple
  3. So good after eating pizza
  4. Best if eaten in the middle of the afternoon or after beach time
  5. If I eat it after 6 pm, guaranteed ice cream dreams

I honestly don’t make dessert as much since Thing 1 and Thing 2 headed off for college.  If there’s company – you betcha , gonna have dessert.   If I make a cake or pie for the two of us – DANGER DANGER. Good thing I do have neighbors that don’t mind if I share!  In fact, one neighbor Sheryl is a great baker and we often get shared with!

The hubby does love his dessert.  I believe his three favorites are Cookie Monsters (his name for homemade chocolate chip cookies warm, topped with ice cream and chocolate sauce), yellow cake with chocolate frosting, and the recipe I am sharing with you today – Dana’s Blueberry Crumb-Top Pie.  The recipe comes again from the Daily Camera so many years ago, given by the owner of the Walnut Cafe.  They are famous for their pies, though most of the time I meet a friend there for breakfast.  You Can have pie for breakfast.  It’s no different than having ice cream for lunch.

As I prepared to share this recipe, I remembered the way I used pie once to love people and get them to a church meeting.   Once a year there’s this long and boring meeting that members of church have to go to.  You vote on boring things, listen to boring business, you get the drift.  Our little church decided to change-up a few things to un-borify what happened in the meeting and what happened after.  There was worship and sharing what God had done.  Even the usually super-boring financial piece got interesting – sometimes even humorous.  There was prayer and there was Pie!  It turned out that the church meeting fell on National Pie Day.  So a little group of people I was part of made some phone calls and whaalaa we had all kinds of home-baked  pie to share after that year’s non-boring meeting!   People came and people stayed hung out after.  Good job church.

If that stimulates an idea for your world,  here’s a heads up that National Pie day is around the corner, Thursday January 23, 2014.

And I have just the pie recipe for you to make and take!

Dana’s Blueberry Crumb-Top Pie

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 Tlb cornstarch
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 3 cups blueberries (fresh or frozen, slightly thawed)
  • Squirt of lemon juice
  • 1 pastry crust

Streusel Topping:

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter at room temperature.

Directions:

In a large bowl, mix sugar, cornstarch, salt and flour until mixture is uniform.  Mix in blueberries.  Mix in lemon juice.  Roll out crust and pinch edges.  pour in filling and smooth top.  Push crust edges in a little to hold filling and topping in place.

For topping combine flour and sugar evenly in a bowl.  Rub in butter until mixture is coarse.  Sprinkle evenly on top of filling.  Bake at 350 degrees until set, about 1 hour.

Serves 6-8.

Enjoy!

 

3 Responses to “Day 17: The 2nd Sweet”

  1. Linda Smith Says:

    I can’t wait to try this pie. Living here in West Michigan, I always have blueberries in the freezer. Question about the recipe…. Bake at 250 degrees? That seems too low.

    I’m loving your series here on Food. As I always say… Food is Love!

    Next time you guys are in the area, it would be fun to see you.

    • Laura DeGroot Says:

      Hi Linda That is so fantastic to have blueberries year round! This pie is worth it! 350 – not 250. I will fix the error. Thanks for catching it! Laura

  2. Mary Ploegstra Says:

    This is a Really Good write Laura!

    Sent from Mother Mary with love


Leave a Reply

