Crema

noticing joy on the surface of simple things … the evidence of holiness happening in the daily grind.

Day 16: Sweet Newspaper Recipes October 17, 2013

Final Button 3I worked for a hospice organization in Boulder for 3 years before moving.  Hospice is meaningful, holistic healthcare during a sacred season of life.  The nurses, chaplains, certified nursing assistants, social workers, grief counselors were nothing shy of remarkable.  They changed me.  One of the phrases we commonly threw around was ‘eat dessert first.’  It’s like an end of life love language.  Except that I think it can be applied to everyone.  Life is fragile, and in God’s economy – not all that long here on earth.  Even if you aren’t going to eat it first, at least eat it once in a while!  I’m certain my sentiment would be batted down by the likes of Jillian the nazi trainer, in moderation…dessert is necessary in the world I live in.  You’re welcome to visit my world anytime!

Tonight and tomorrow night I share sweet newspaper recipes.  (See Day 15 for main dish newspaper recipes)  I have no dates to reference for when I cut these out of the paper though the newspaper pieces are yellowed, so its been a while.

Don’t you love when you find something that’s been lost?  I had that experience today, danced a little kitchen jig, because I located the missing recipe for Chrisar’s restaurant Almond Joy Torte!  I make this for special occasions and special people.   The last ‘special’ was Jessica R’s birthday.   I’ve never been especially great at presentation which is why this show off recipe is a favorite of mine.  A very simple technique on top makes it WoW.

The restaurant Chrisar’s  hosted a romantic dinner for JR and I a time or two, always with this dessert.  It was in a historic house in old town Longmont CO.  It’s no longer there, though I believe  another restaurant took its place and may still be serving this treat!

For you fellow love language foodies, there MUST be a special someone or sometime soon that you will want to whip this little number out for!

Chrisar’s Restaurant Almond Joy Torte

CRUST

  • 1 1/2 cups toasted almonds chopped fine
  • 1/4 cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup melted butter or margarine

FILLING

  • 1/2 cup canned coconut cream (usually found in the grocery by the grown up drink mixes)
  • 3 oz white chocolate, chopped
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine cut into pieces, room temperature
  • 3 cups lightly packed medium shredded coconut

TOPPING

  • 1/4 cup whipping cream
  • 3 Tlb butter or margarine
  • 2 Tlb light corn syrup
  • 4 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips or chopped
  • 2 oz vanilla candy coating, melted

Directions:

FOR CRUST: Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In food processor, coarsely chop almonds, add brown sugar and butter, process using on and off until finely chopped.  press mixture firmly into bottom and half way up sides of nine-inch spring form pan.  Bake 10 minutes.  Cool on rack.

FOR FILLING: Bring coconut cream to a simmer in a heavy small saucepan.  Reduce heat to low, add white chocolate, stir until melted.  pour into medium bowl, whisk in sour cream and butter, until both melt and mixture is smooth.  Stir in coconut. chill until filling is very cold but not set – about 1 hour.  Spoon filling into crust, smooth top and refrigerate until set.

FOR TOPPING:  Bring first 3 ingredients to simmer in a heavy small saucepan, stirring frequently, reduce heat to low.  Add semi-sweet chocolate and stir until melted.  pour topping over filling evenly.  Quickly spoon melted white chocolate into parchment cone  (I use a small baggie and cut of just a tiny corner.  I don’t own parchment cones!)  pipe in parallel lines over topping, spacing evenly. (see photo – I start on the edge and go round and round making smaller and smaller circles until I get to the center. )   Here’s the part that makes it WoW:  To form a decorative pattern, take a toothpick and pull it from the center to the outer edge.

Wow…that’s a really big picture of my newspaper recipe.  I’ve simply got to take a WordPress class.

This is rich enough for one night.  Tomorrow night…sweet newspaper recipe number 2.

You’re thinkin now of that special someone aren’t you? O yea – I know.

Almond Joy Torte

 

 

2 Responses to “Day 16: Sweet Newspaper Recipes”

  1. dutchpim78 Says:

    Laura, Life is short on this planet and it won’t be lengthened a lot by this recipe containing butter, whipped cream, and lots of sugar. The more of this you eat, the more likely you are to get alzheimer’s, I think. Where is the protein? I like Key Lime pie, too. And I don’t think it is wise to indulge in sweet goodies very often! It’s OK once in a while, though! Fish, oatmeal, carrots and apples are not as glamorous but help digestion. You have heard ‘An apple a day keeps the doctor away’. It works! Ardith

    • lauradegroot Says:

      Yes my dear Aunt Ardith I hear you. The recipe may not lengthen your life, but I do think it will make it pretty awesome while you eat it! That’s why of course we must eat it in moderation – keep these types of foods a treat. Wish I liked fish better…I do love apples though!


Leave a Reply

