Crema

noticing joy on the surface of simple things … the evidence of holiness happening in the daily grind.

Day 6: Eating The Inventory October 7, 2013

Final Button 3Boulder County Colorado was home for 28 years.  It took a while, but I eventually woke up to caring about the earth – the environment – what is now referred to as “being green”.  Long ago Kermit the Frog mentioned it’s not easy being green, it’s not that hard either.   There are many ways to live that out and in Boulder County that became more convenient and the cultural norm over time.  We had large recycle and compost bins and a small trash can.  I took re-usable grocery bags into the store, stopped buying styrofoam, changed lightbulb types, took my coffee cup and water bottle most places, etc.

Long before learning to be a good steward of the things I throw away, I learned to be a good steward of food.  What once was called leftovers and generated a pulled up nose on my face, became ‘planned-overs.’  and made me feel like a savvy kitchenista.  I believe it was my accountant minded hubby that later transposed the word into the phrase ‘eat the inventory.’  So we do and we shall tonight once again.  I have a pasta salad recipe that I had the pasta for but none of the other ingredients.  I did however have inventory: sharp cheddar cheese, pepperoni I didn’t use for the pizza, artichoke hearts I meant for a salad someday, tomatoes that needed a home, red onion which I always have and banana peppers to replace the green pepper it called for.  That’ll do.

Eating the inventory comes in handy before you leave on vacation, before moving, knowing there is a hurricane coming, the need for a full fridge clean out, or just putting together a pasta salad to go with the pulled pork sandwiches you will serve to the college kids you are going to have for dinner and the Bronco game.

I could have opened a bag of chips.  But I love to love people with food.

0

 

Leave a Reply

