Crema

noticing joy on the surface of simple things … the evidence of holiness happening in the daily grind.

The First Trip Back July 19, 2013

Filed under: Home,Joy,moving,Peace,Uncategorized — lauradegroot @ 12:49 am

Home…Colorado still feels like that.  When the tires hit the tarmac my whole body burst into a noticeable smile.  The flight attendant commented that I looked excited to be in Colorado.  She had no idea…

Pat picked us up and I smiled the whole way to Niwot.

Deep Breath…

Familiar…

Smelled like fresh-cut hay…

And the mountains were right where I left them and showed off with their soft layered look…

Relief.

I could have held on tightly to each person, each place, each experience I had there as they all made me so happy. But I knew they could not come with me to Florida. (important note:  they are most welcome to come to Florida).   I intentionally enjoyed being present with each person, each place, each experience, but didn’t cling.

Seeing the unpleasant color the new owner painted our previous residence, effectively established that “home” as: Not Mine Anymore.  In an odd sort of way, I am thankful for that.

The first trip back to Florida from Colorado resulted in peace.  And readiness for setting up a place to call home.  And a gentle eagerness to engage in what’s next with people, places, experiences here.

Perhaps people make a place feel like home more than furniture or where you get your mail delivered.  So, no doubt – Colorado people, I miss “home” because you are there.  It was great to feel like myself from the moment I landed in Colorado.

I may just have brought a little more of myself on this first trip back.

 

3 Responses to “The First Trip Back”

  1. Michelle DeGroot Says:

    Lovely insight Laura…..I understand!

  2. Adie Says:

    So beautifully written. But miss you still!

  3. Shelley Hooper Says:

    I remember coming ‘home’ to Boulder and Crestview for about 4 years after we moved. You told me it was all good and it was OK to miss good friends 🙂


Leave a Reply

